top of page

The Ancient Order of Hibernians (AOH) in Pennsylvania formed in Pottsville in the 1830's and today we are over 7,500 strong and organized into 75 Divisions across the Commonwealth. If you are an American, Catholic of Irish descent, I encourage you to join our Order and experience what Friendship, Unity and True Christian Charity is all about.


The initials AOH may tell our story best. Those who say it means “Add One Hour” are describing the easygoing, no rush attitude of many of our members, while “America’s Only Hope” has been used to define the loyalty of the Irish to the principles of their adopted land.  In any case, our members are best described by the statement, “To be Irish is a Blessing, to be a Hibernian is an Honor.”

Past State Presidents:

Term     President                           County

2023-25   Denny Maher                         Allegheny
2021-23   Edward Dougherty                Philadelphia
2019-21   Patrick O'Brien                       Alleghen
2017-19   Joseph Hosie                           Carbondale
2015-17   Edward Halligan                    Montgomery
2013-15   Daniel Devinney                    Allegheny
2011-13   Thomas O'Donnell                Philadelphia
2009-11    Dennis Donnelley                Allegheny
2007-09    Dennis P. Gaw                      Montgomery
2005-07    James Green                           Allegheny
2003-05    Christopher Norris               Lycoming
2001-03    Kevin D. Donohue               Allegheny

1999-01    John S. Kane                          Lackawanna
1997-99    Seamus Boyle                        Philadelphia    
           National President
1994-97    Martin Madigan                    Allegheny

1991-94    Edward “Ned” McGinley    Luzerne                        National President
1987-91    Ronald “Bo” Bryant              Allegheny
1983-87    John “Red” Gilroy                Luzerne
1979-83   George M. Stratton                Allegheny

1975-79    Leo F. Haley                           Schuylkill Co.
1973-75    John R. Conley
1970-72    Joseph E. Montgomery        Philadelphia
1966-70    Joseph A. Roche                    Allegheny                     National President
1962-66    Thomas J. Gibson                 Philadelphia

1958-62    James R. O’Hara                    Allegheny
1954-59    John J. O’Reilly                     Philadelphia
1950-54    Martin A. Henry                    Allegheny  
1946-50    Patrick J. Sweeney                Philadelphia
1941-46    Edward F. Mangan               Luzerne
1939-41    Michael J. Daly                     Philadelphia

1935-39    James M. Kelly                      Allegheny
1931-35    Thomas J. Minnick Jr.          Philadelphia
1927-31    John F. Buckley                     Lackawanna
1923-27    John L. Scarry                        Allegheny                     National President
1918-23    Major John A. Farrell           Delaware
1914-18    P.A. Kilgallon                        Allegheny
1910-14    James B. Sheehan                  Philadelphia

1906-10    Joseph P. McLaughlin          Philadelphia                National President
1904-06    Cornelius C. Donovan         Lackawanna
1900-04     J. Patrick Donohoe               Philadelphia                National President
1894-98     Patrick O’Neill                      Philadelphia
1890-94     James Jackson                       Philadelphia
1887-90     Charles Donohoe
1886-87     M. D. Roche                          Lackawanna
1886          C.H. O’Connor ?
1884-86     Maurice F. Wilhere              Philadelphia                National President
1880-84     Cornelius Horgan                Allegheny 
1879-80     Michael McArdel                 Philadelphia
1878-79     Cornelius Horgan                Allegheny 
1877           James T. Moran                    Allegheny
1873-76     Captain John Gallagher      Allegheny
1858           Edward Crossin                   Philadelphia
1855           Daniel Dougherty               Allegheny
1838-40+    James Cleary                        Schuylkill
1836           William B. Hull, Esq.          Schuylkill

Traditional     Jeremiah  Reilly  Broad Mtn. , Cass Twp. Schuylkill Co.

bottom of page